India Physical Map

India Physical Map

Are you looking for a Customized Map? Please get Custom Mapping Quote here.

About India Physical Map

Explore the above physical map of India showing the geographical or physical features of India.

Geography of India

To be precise, India is located north of the equator. The coordinates of India are 20.5937° N, 78.9629° E. India is also known as the seventh-largest nation in the world, with a total area of 3,287,263 square kilometres or 1,269,219 square miles. The total distance between India’s northernmost and southernmost areas is 3,214 kilometres (1,997 miles). On the other hand, the total distance between the easternmost and westernmost areas is 2,933 kilometres (1,882 miles). Moreover, the coastline of India is approximately 7,517 kilometres (4,671 miles). The total land frontier of India is 15,200 kilometres (9,445 miles).

India is a peninsula and thus surrounded by seas and oceans on all three sides. For instance, India is surrounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west and the Bay of Bengal on the east. It also has the Lakshadweep Sea situated to the southwest. Both the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar separates India from the island nation, Sri Lanka. On the other hand, Maldives is situated at a distance of 125 kilometres (78 miles) from India’s Lakshadweep Islands. The Andaman and Nicobar Islands belong to India and share maritime borders with Indonesia and Myanmar. The southernmost tip of India is Kanyakumari.

On the other hand, the southernmost point is commonly referred to as the Indira Point. The Indira Point is situated on the Great Nicobar Island. On the contrary, the northernmost point of India is Indira Col located in Siachen Glacier. The territorial waters of India extend to a distance of 12 nautical miles (13.8 miles and 22.2 kilometres respectively) from the Indian coastline. In the whole world, India has the 18th largest EEZ or Exclusive Economic Zone of 2,305,143 square kilometres or 890,021 square miles.

India’s northern boundaries are defined mainly by the Himalayan mountain ranges. India has China, Pakistan, Bhutan and Nepal as its Himalayan neighbors. The western border of India with Pakistan lies in the Thar Desert and the Rann of Kutch. It also has the Punjab Plains and Karakoram Range located on the western border with Pakistan. India’s immediate northeast neighbor is Burma. The densely forested Chin Hills and Kachin Hills separates India from Burma. On the east, India has Bangladesh as its neighbor. The border of India with Bangladesh is defined by the Indo-Gangetic plain along with the Mizo and Khasi Hills.

One of the longest rivers of India is the Ganges. The Ganges-Brahmaputra system is present in the maximum areas of north, eastern and central India. On the other hand, the Deccan Plateau covers a large majority of areas under south India. Kangchenjunga, located in Sikkim, is known as the highest point of India. It is 8,586 meters or (28,169 feet) high, which makes it the third highest peak in the world. India is often known as the land of diversity in unity. Even the weather conditions of India vary from location to location. For instance, the weather conditions in South India are equatorial. On the other hand, the Himalayan upper areas have alpine and tundra weather conditions. Geologically, India is situated on the India plate. It also lies partially on the Indo-Australian tectonic plate.

India’s Physiographic Regions


Craton refers to the stable and oldest part of the continental lithosphere. It usually comprises the two top layers of Earth in the form of mantle and crust. The shield refers to a specific part of the craton where the basement rock projects out of the ground. It is also an area that stays unaffected by the motion of plate tectonics. India comprises five major cratons in the form of:


When the context is about regions, India can be segregated into six physiographic regions. They are as follows:

India’s Natural Resources

Ecological Resources

Here are the environmental resources of India.

Water Bodies of India

India possesses around 14,500 kilometres of inland waters that are navigable. India comprises twelve significant rivers with a total catchment area of more than 2,528,000 square kilometres or 976,000 square miles. To be precise, the major rivers of India originate from the following three significant watersheds: