USA Time Zone Map

Time in the United States of America, by law, is divided into 9 standard time zones covering the American states, territories and other U.S. possessions, with most of the U.S. observing DST (daylight saving time) for generally the spring, summer, and fall months. The time zone boundaries and daylight saving time observance are organized by the Department of Transportation. Official and extremely precise timekeeping services (clocks) are presented by 2 federal agencies: NIST (the National Institute of Standards and Technology) (an agency of the Department of Commerce); and UNSO (the United States Naval Observatory). The clocks managed by these services are kept in synchronization with each other as well as with those of other internationally recognized timekeeping organizations.

It is the mix of the time zone and DST rules, along with the timekeeping services, which calculate the legal civil time for any United States location at any moment.

USA Time Zone Map

Are you looking for a Customized Map? Please get Custom Mapping Quote here.

United States and Regional Time Zones

The United States of America and its surrounding areas use 9 standard time zones. As defined by U.S. law they are:
Time ZoneDSTStandard 
Atlantic(not observed)UTC−04:00Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
EasternUTC−04:00UTC−05:00Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia; Partially: Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Tennessee; No DST observed, not defined by 15 U.S.C. §260: Navassa Island, Bajo Nuevo Bank, Serranilla Bank
CentralUTC−05:00UTC−06:00Alabama, Arkansas, Chicago, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Wisconsin; Partially: Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas
MountainUTC−06:00UTC−07:00Arizona (no DST outside of Navajo Nation), Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming; Partially: Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas
PacificUTC−07:00UTC−08:00California, Nevada, Washington (state); Partially: Idaho, Oregon
AlaskaUTC−08:00UTC−09:00Partially: Alaska
Hawaii‑AleutianUTC−09:00UTC−10:00Hawaii (no DST observed in Hawaii); Partially: Alaska; No DST observed, not defined by 15 U.S.C. §260: Johnston Atoll
American Samoa(not observed)UTC−11:00American Samoa; Not defined by 15 U.S.C. §260: Jarvis Island, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, Kingman Reef
 (not observed)UTC−12:00Not defined by 15 U.S.C. §260: Baker Island, Howland Island
 (not observed)UTC+12:00Not defined by 15 U.S.C. §260: Wake Island
Chamorro(not observed)UTC+10:00Guam, Northern Mariana Islands

List of U.S. States and Territories by Time Zone


StateTime Zone
Alabama(AL)Central Standard Time (CST)
Alaska(AK)Alaska Standard Time (AKST)
Aleutian Islands Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST)
Arizona(AZ)Mountain Standard Time (MST)
The Navajo Nation uses Daylight Saving Time (DST), the rest of the state does not
American SamoaSamoa Time (SST)
American Samoa does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Arkansas(AR)Central Standard Time (CST)
California(CA)Pacific Standard Time (PST)
Colorado(CO)Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Connecticut(CT)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Delaware(DE)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
District of Columbia(DC)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Florida(FL)Most of the state: Eastern Standard Time (EST)
West of the Apalachicola River: Central Standard Time (CST)
Georgia(GA)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Guam (GU)Chamorro Standard Time (ChST)
Guam does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Hawaii(HI)Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST)
Hawaii does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Idaho(ID)Most of the state: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
North of the Salmon River: Pacific Standard Time (PST)
Illinois(IL)Central Standard Time (CST)
Indiana(IN)Most of the state: Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Some counties near the southwestern and northwestern border of the state use Central Standard Time (CST)
Iowa(IA)Central Standard Time (CST)
Kansas(KS)Most of the state: Central Standard Time (CST)
Greeley, Hamilton, Sherman and Wallace counties: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Kentucky(KY)Western half of the state: Central Standard Time (CST)
Eastern half of the state: Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Louisiana(LA)Central Standard Time (CST)
Maine(ME)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Maryland(MD)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Massachusetts(MA)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Michigan(MI)Most of the state: Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron and Menominee Counties: Central Standard Time (CST)
Minnesota(MN)Central Standard Time (CST)
Mississippi(MS)Central Standard Time (CST)
Missouri(MO)Central Standard Time (CST)
Montana(MT)Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Nebraska(NE)Most of the state: Central Standard Time (CST)
Western part of the state: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Nevada(NV)Most of the state: Pacific Standard Time (PST)
2 small towns, Jackpot and West Wendover: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
New Hampshire(NH)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
New Jersey(NJ)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
New Mexico(NM)Mountain Standard Time (MST)
New York(NY)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
North Carolina(NC)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
North Dakota(ND)Most of the state: Central Standard Time (CST)
Western North Dakota: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Northern Mariana Islands(MP)Chamorro Standard Time (ChST)
The CNMI does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Ohio(OH)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Oklahoma(OK)Central Standard Time (CST)
Oregon(OR)Most of the state: Pacific Standard Time (PST)
Part of Malheur County: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Pennsylvania(PA)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Puerto Rico (PR)Atlantic Standard Time (AST)
Puerto Rico does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Rhode Island(RI)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
South Carolina(SC)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
South Dakota(SD)Eastern South Dakota: Central Standard Time (CST)
Western South Dakota: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Tennessee(TN)West Tennessee: Central Standard Time (CST)
Middle Tennessee, plus Marion County: Central Standard Time (CST)
East Tennessee, except Marion County: Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Texas(TX)Most of the state: Central Standard Time (CST)
El Paso and Hudspeth Counties: Mountain Standard Time (MST)
United States Virgin Islands (USVI)Atlantic Standard Time (AST)
The USVI does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST)
Utah(UT)Mountain Standard Time (MST)
Vermont(VT)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Virginia(VA)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Washington(WA)Pacific Standard Time (PST)
West Virginia(WV)Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Wisconsin(WI)Central Standard Time (CST)
Wyoming(WY)Mountain Standard Time (MST)

Federal District

Washington, D.C. does use DST (Daylight Savings Time).
Federal districtTime zone
Washington, D.C.UTC−5: Eastern Standard Time


The territories of the U.S. do not use Daylight Savings Time (DST).
TerritoryTime zone
American SamoaUTC-11: Samoa Standard Time
GuamUTC+10: Chamorro Standard Time
Northern Mariana IslandsUTC+10: Chamorro Standard Time
Puerto RicoUTC-4: Atlantic Standard Time (AST)
U.S. Virgin IslandsUTC-4: Atlantic Standard Time (AST)
Wake IslandUTC+12: Wake Island Time Zone

  1. Pittsburgh on US Map