New South Wales County Map

Explore county map of New South Wales, NSW is divided into several counties, which are traditional divisions of land. These counties are mainly used for legal and administrative purposes, such as in land registration. While counties are not used as much in daily life anymore, they still play a role in certain official documents and maps. Each county in NSW is made up of smaller divisions called parishes. The concept of counties in NSW dates back to the 19th century and reflects the state's British heritage. However, unlike in some other countries, counties in NSW are not used for local government or political regions. Instead, local government areas are used for managing local services and facilities.

New South Wales County Map

Are you looking for a Customized Map? Please get Custom Mapping Quote here.

About New South Wales County Map

Explore New South Wales political map to locate 141 counties in New South Wales states of Australia.

Lands Administrative Divisions of NSW

New South Wales (NSW) is a state known for its geographical diversity and rich cultural heritage. Its lands are managed through a system of administrative divisions that play a crucial role in the state’s governance, planning, and development. These divisions help in organizing land ownership, usage, and local government functions, ensuring the sustainable growth and management of the state’s resources. This page provides a comprehensive overview of the lands administrative divisions of NSW, including local government areas (LGAs), parishes, and counties.

Local Government Areas (LGAs)

The most prominent administrative division in NSW is the Local Government Area (LGA). LGAs are responsible for providing a range of services to the community, including waste management, public libraries, parks and recreational facilities, and local road maintenance. NSW is divided into more than 120 LGAs, each governed by a council elected by the residents of the area. These LGAs vary significantly in size, population, and demographic characteristics, from densely populated urban centers like the City of Sydney to vast, sparsely populated rural areas.


NSW is also divided into 141 counties, a division dating back to the 19th century. While counties no longer serve administrative functions in terms of local government, they are still used for land registration and cadastral purposes. Counties in NSW are primarily a reference point for identifying the location of land parcels, particularly in rural and regional areas.


Within counties, further subdivisions called parishes exist. Parishes in NSW are used for land titling and cadastral mapping, providing a more detailed breakdown of land division than counties. There are several thousand parishes across NSW, each serving as a fundamental unit for land identification, especially in legal contexts and property transactions.

Importance of Land Divisions

These administrative divisions are essential for efficient land management, real estate transactions, and local governance. They help in: